So I’m gonna say it. I do not like the word FEMINIST. I hesitated to write this piece because I didn’t want to offend any of the women that inspire me that identify with this word, but I have been thinking about it since the whole #YesAllWomen thing started. I can identify with the hashtag #YesAllWomen, but not feminist. It doesn’t fit.

I am spending a few days at the University of Maryland with more than 900 other women most of whom identify as feminists. I am at a conference called NCCWSL (National Conference for College Women Student Leaders); and it is likely that some of the women I have met recently will go on to make great changes in the world in which we live. These feminists will almost certainly do great things. I still don’t like the word.

This isn’t to say that I don’t like people that identify as feminists; or feminist ideas, causes, or principles. In fact, the opposite is true. Most feminists I know, really know what they are talking about and share similar beliefs to me. They want equality between genders–so do I.

So what do I have against this word? Why doesn’t a strong woman as myself identify with the word Feminist? It does not feel inclusive. It has negative connotations. The denotation may be completely well-intentioned, but the connotation can be more important when we are talking about a topic that gets people so fired up. This word has always produced images of “man haters” in my head. I don’t hate men. I don’t believe women are better than men. I don’t believe men are better than women either. I want everyone to be equal. Now I know in some regards that is impossible or unrealistic–there are some things that are fundamentally different–but it is a noble thing to strive for. The word “feminist” does not scream equality. It just speaks to the advancement of one gender; it seems this advancement can come even at the cost of the other gender. I do’t want that. I doubt most forward thinking feminists do. Now I don’t think I or anyone can change the negative feelings associated with this word, as it is fundamentally flawed. Feminine refers to Female. The word only addresses one gender, so that automatically negates inclusiveness. So I will likely never be a feminist; I’m just not comfortable with the title. I will however continue to support the “feminist” causes that promote equality, and what is right.

I am an “Equalist” and an “Inclusvist”